In chapter 2 of Exodus we see Moses is a man of intervention. He first attacks an Egyptian beating up on a Hebrew slave. Then tries to keep two other Hebrew slaves from fighting with each other. After he flees Egypt for the Midian desert he intervenes to save Reuel’s daughters from some thugs. These are three incidents in one chapter where Moses is in the thick of things ready to help anyone in need.

Flash forward to chapter 3. Moses has a wife, a kid and a flock. God appears to Moses in a burning bush and calls him to lead the Hebrews out of Egypt. Moses’ response? “Who am I that you should send ME?”

This gung-ho guy is now gun shy. What changed about Moses that brought about this reluctance to be God’s man?

He no longer had the backing of his family (Pharaoh) as a shield from punishment. He had seen the fruit of his hot tempered nature. He had gone from the riches of the palace to the modest life of a shepherd. We don’t know for certain what caused the humility, but we do know one thing. He knew he couldn’t rescue the God’s people on his own. God had Moses in a place where he had no choice but to be dependent.

In my ministry, the older I get the more I want to tell God, “Who am I that you should send me?” I am hot tempered. My vision is cloudy. My ability to equip leaders is questionable. My speaking skills are sub-par. I don’t have an enormous following on twitter (or even this blog).

Yet, through Christ I am able to see fruit that I never thought was imaginable. I’ve been on the front lines to see many students rise (and fall) through the years. For whatever reason, God has told me “Go, I have heard their cries and I am sending YOU to these teenagers.”

In truth, it’s Jesus’ patience that keeps me from yelling at a student who won’t be quiet. It’s Jesus’ who helps me see truth when I am blinded by my own sin. It’s Jesus’ call to discipleship that raises up so many faithful men and women to care for our students. It’s Jesus’ words that ring true in the hearts of our students when I am up front. Any influence or attractiveness I have simply comes from the power and beauty of Christ himself. For that, I am humbled.

Like Moses, I may never see the promised land on earth (whatever that is). But like Moses, the very presence of God is enough to sustain me through my journey in leadership.

