If you’re like me, you got into student ministry because you wanted to see Jesus working in the hearts of your students. Being on staff, you can sometimes lose sight of this. Meetings, staff conflicts, added responsibilities…all these things can sometimes distract you from the one thing that is closest to your heart’s calling. Right now, I am in a season of planning and studying for the spring. These seasons can drain me because I get swamped in details, without getting the time with students that I want.

Ministry is a constant tug of war between the things I want to do and the things I need to do. I need to manage my staff, budgets and calendars, but I want to spend time with students. When I find myself getting discouraged or bitter, chances are I’m letting the administration side of ministry win. I was feeling that way last week, then I went paintballing with some students. It was there, getting pelted and bruised and having a great time with students, that I remembered the joy of my calling. It gave me new energy to tackle the other parts of my ministry (the necessary things) with joy because I can see how they allow me to do the things I love, spending my life with students for Jesus’ sake.

Have you lost the joy of your calling because of the pile of necessary things is mounting up? If so, what do you need to do to regain that joy?

