The old saying in Texas goes, “If you don’t like the weather, just wait 15 minutes.” Two days ago, we had 15 tornados rip through our area, causing damage to hundreds of homes. I don’t want minimize the families tangibly affected by these natural disasters, but it feels like I’ve been in a ministry tornado lately. Nothing has been bad per se, but I have been caught up in the twisters of change around me.

I used to long for the stable times in my ministry. I hoped that at some point, things will even out and I could just be normal. The problem is normal and stable is a myth. There is always flux around you in student ministry (and life). You will always have new students, staff and volunteer changes, shifting philosophies, crises and a myriad of other things to knock you off your equilibrium.

The problem for me is that I hold onto the hope of stability like an idol. I like the comfort and predictability of knowing what’s ahead. I crave stability and comfort more than I crave my God. Jesus calmed the storms. He silenced crowds. He was stability personified, even in the midst of the raging religious and political seas around Him. How often I forget His promise that He would be with us “even to the end of the age.” (Matt. 28:20)

The great Kevin Costner once said, “Dry Land Is Not A Myth!” I’ll rephrase that famous line for my own purpose. “Stability Is Not A Myth”. Stability can be found, but it’s not in a season or position. It is found in Christ alone. He alone can carry your burdens. He alone is stands firm in the midst of dizzying circumstances. His heart never falters. His strength never fades. When I long for stability in life and in ministry, I am really longing for Christ Himself. Because Jesus alone is our rock and anchor. To hope in anything else is to set a course directly for disappointment and burnout. Praise God that he reminds me this daily of what true stability is. If you need a reminder of who Jesus really is, like I so often do, remember the following line from the hymn:

“On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand.”

