I’ve been increasingly convinced that I need to hand over more responsibility to my students. So often in my ministry I’ve been content to let my students sit back and be spectators. In an effort to have “excellence” in our programming, I have been reluctant to let my students play an active role. I have not been doing my part to train our students to be involved members of the Body of Christ.

So that’s why I am so excited about this Sunday. For the first time in my ministry to middle schoolers we are letting the students take over completely. We’ve had students involved at various times before, but this is the first time they will be leading everything. We have students leading worship, teaching, games, welcome and running the computer. In addition we even have a 7th grader who is in charge of making sure the whole thing runs smoothly.

It’s either going to be a spectacular success or huge mess, either way I can’t wait. The success is going to be in the message that middle schoolers can play a part in the kingdom of God. Please pray with me that our students will feel empowered and affirmed in their place in God’s kingdom. I’ll report back to all my dozens of readers on Monday to let you know how it went.

