Our summer season is winding down and frankly, I’m exhausted physically, emotionally and spiritually. The mission trip we just got back from emptied my bucket. Summers are a great time in ministry but often the season leaves our reserves taxed. Even though the pace of the summer has caught up with me, I still have hope and joy.

I have hope and joy because even though my bucket is empty, God’s bucket never ceases to overflow. Check this out from Isaiah 40:

28 Do you not know?
    Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
    the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
    and his understanding no one can fathom.
29 He gives strength to the weary
    and increases the power of the weak.
30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
    and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the Lord
    will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint. (NIV)

 

When I feel my legs about to give out on me, I kneel before the Father and he gives me strength. When I can’t take another step I am reminded that God is still working even when I can’t. The Gospel gives us the freedom to know that it’s not up to us to save our students. It’s Jesus alone who is burdened with that task. He works out His plan perfectly and doesn’t rely on my wisdom and energy to get it done.

So if you’re tired right now as I am, then meditate on the strength and capability of our God who does not grow tired or weary. Find rest in your weakness so you can glory in the One who has an infinite supply of strength. Worship the One who sustains the whole world effortlessly and yet knows what it is like to be tired and weary. This Jesus is here to lift you up and carry you…to the praise of His glory.

