It’s been a couple of weeks since I last wrote on here. Here’s some of the stuff that’s been going on in my brain:

  • I just heard about a new app called SnapChat, which allows people to share pictures with friends. The catch is that the pictures are only available to be seen for a short window (like 15-30 seconds). After that window, the picture is deleted forever, leaving no digital footprint. There are some implications for teens who may want to use the app to share picture they don’t want their parents to see.
  • When I get stuck working in my office, I miss out on some great ministry. Yesterday, I worked out of a local coffee shop and was able to have unscheduled conversations with two dads from our ministry. Good stuff!
  • As of this morning, I’ve lost 25 pounds in the past three months. Much thanks to my wife and to my YMCP cohort for encouraging me to make goals and follow through with them. My hope is to eventually get to my high school weight, another 15 pounds.
  • This week while planning for our spring calendar I realized that I have become less willing to take risks when it comes to events. A series of poorly attended and expensive events in the past year has made me gun shy and I’ve been making excuses. Thanks for my staff for challenging me to be more creative and ambitious.
  • I get to go on my first hunting trip this Sunday. My senior pastor invited me to join him. I’m excited to get to spend two days with our church leadership. I love how our SP, Ted Kitchens, really does take the initiative to invite young staff members to spend time with him.

I hope your thanksgiving is a restful and joyful one.

