Boy, it’s been a while since posted on this site. Over the past couple of years I was writing for a a few other blogs and also had a baby, so that’s prevented me from having time to collect my thoughts for this site. A few weeks ago I made a goal to start blogging weekly again, so here you go.

I’ve been digging into 1 Timothy recently with the hopes of gaining wisdom on leading in a church role from Paul. When I got to Chapter 2 Verse 1, I was convicted by Paul’s first command for Timothy, the young pastor in training.

“I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people. Ask God to help them;

intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them.”

Over and over again in ministry the urgent pushes out the necessary. Phone calls, emails, lesson plans, and event details are all urgent. There is a very real consequence to not attending to these things. I find that just as often the necessary things lose out to the urgent things. Paul reminds Timothy that before all things those in pastoral leadership need to PRAY for and GIVE THANKS for all people (even those in our care).

So, I’ve been trying to put this into practice and I’m finding that it’s given me more compassion for people. It’s made me more grateful even for the tough-to-love people in my ministry. It’s also given me a deeper awareness for their Spiritual needs.

In your student ministry, how are you including pastoral prayer into your daily/weekly rhythm? If it’s not there I challenge you to start today. Praying for people is an integral part of your work as a pastor and will keep your ministry thriving.

