In my transition over the past year to leading our student team, I’ve been stretched more than ever in my leadership. I realize that there is so much more to leading others than I ever thought. I just went through my notebook and collected some of the leadership wisdom I’ve gained. Most of these lessons have come through the direct mentoring and coaching by my Executive Pastor, Bill Egner. He’s one of the most brilliant, Godly men I know and I’m thankful for the influence he’s had on my life.

Remember that EVERYONE is a leader to SOMEONE. So we all need to get better at leadership.

Here are just a few nuggets of wisdom that I’m trying to embody in my leadership:

  1. Determine your “Why”. Why you exist will drive everything else . People don’t buy what you do, they buy why you do it.
  2. Nothing becomes dynamic until it becomes specific. Don’t just give people a big idea, give them a real target to aim at.
  3. It’s easier to critique than create. A leader must always start with some idea/plan/strategy to get the creative juices going. You can’t design by committee.
  4. Vision leaks, you need to recast vision ALL the time.
  5. There is a difference between delegation and abdication. Delegation involves circling back and keeping people accountable.
  6. Average players want to be left alone, good players want to be coached, great players want to be told the truth.

I seriously have two pages full of these kinds of nuggets. My prayer is that for the sake of the kingdom, for the sake of my church, for the sake of our teenagers, and for the sake of my staff/volunteers I would become a better leader.

What about you? What lessons on leadership are you learning?

 

